20st lost – I’m now a Slimming World Target Member!!

Normally I’m a creature of habit on a Saturday morning but today I’m more akin to a cat on a hot tin roof.

I’d generally go out shopping first thing and run errands but my stomach is turning cartwheels and I’m insanely nervous. I’m lying in bed instead trying not to think – which is impossible.

I’ve only one thing on my mind.

Will today be the day when I hit my target weight?

I have no idea. I’ve not yet stepped on my own scales and I don’t know what their ‘ultimate accuracy’ will report. Yesterday’s indications were good – but today? Who knows?

In an effort to take my mind off anything food related last night I eventually gave up twiddling my thumbs and went out to the cinema for a late showing of the Black Panther.

I’m not gonna lie. It was a chilly night for a walk to the local picture house – but if the alternative is turning my mind in knots at home then I choose frozen fantasy every time.

It did take a while before I was willing to entertain the idea of taking my thermals off however. I sat dressed like this for a full half hour before removing my woolly hat.

Usually I’m like a kid in a sweet shop with a new Marvel film – but for whatever reason I’d not been looking forward to this one in quite the same way that I normally do – and (maybe because I was rather tired) I found myself nodding off after an hour.

Maybe it was Martin Freeman’s ridiculous American accent or the lack of any character that I felt I liked or related to – but this film fell completely flat for me.

If you have to choose between this and ‘The Shape of Water’ then I would go for aquatic antics every time. Maybe if I watched it again I’d feel differently but I doubt it. I really want to like it but I don’t.

Hopefully Avengers Infinity War will come up with the goods that Black Panther didn’t.

Oh well. I guess that I better get up and do something to take my mind off weigh in. It’s two hours away and time is moving backwards.

(Author potters around the house for a while and fiddles with technology to distract himself. It doesn’t work. Instead he climbs onto the scales and realises that success today could come down to the clothes on his back)

Ok ok. I’m getting increasingly nervous. None of this should matter BUT IT DOES! My Slimming World Facebook group are linking their comments my name and posting messages of support. I can’t help but but feel excited now.

I’ve just been standing on my scales of ultimate accuracy and they suggest that this morning could either be ‘close but no cigar‘ or ‘holyflippingamazeballs!!!

I’m so stressed!!!

I’ve been trying on clothes that are really really light in my wardrobe in an effort to find a suitable outfit for standing on the scales. I think I’m wearing it now and there’s only half an hour to go until I have to be there.

(Dammit! Why is time going so slow and why is my heart pounding like a drum?!

(Author goes to group)

OK – I’ve only gone and done it – and by ‘it’ I mean burst into tears in front of everyone.

I’m now a target member (I surpassed my goal actually) and have reset my target to where I landed at 14st 7lbs. This is where I plant the flag. I’m staying right here.

I’ve now lost 20st 1.5lbs and I’m overwhelmed.

I can’t believe I’ve finally done it.

I’m kind of lost for words if I’m truthful – and after so many posts where I had more to say than I often knew how to put on the page I find myself currently at almost a complete loss.

This is enormous.

If I think I cry (happy tears) and if I type I cry (I’m crying again) so I’m instead going to just post some pretty incredible pictures of me and Angie, my Slimming World consultant – without whom I might not have made it.

IMG_2001

She’s wanted from the very start of my journey to join me in my trousers, and who am I to deny a girl the honour of such a request? I didn’t think I’d fit in one leg, but it seems I do.

What’s incredible is that I used to fill these…

most hated photo 2 (1)

In contrast we can now also both get into my old shirt!

IMG_2019

And this is my old belt!

IMG_2023

She’s formed an important piece of a complex set of inter-related reasons that I’ve been able to do this and her ability to make everyone feel welcome, cared for and included in her sessions has been the social glue that has in turn enabled me to gather continual support from a group of people that have firstly changed my life and secondly never been any less than generous and encouraging.

Collectively they’ve lifted me upon their shoulders and their kindness has helped to carry me over this finish line.

To each of them, and to all of the people that read on and comment on my blog I thank you from the bottom of my heart. Each and every on of you that’s been there, clicked like, commented – followed me n Instagram, messaged me, told me that I’ve inspired you and even just reached out to say hi.

This is for you internet.

IMG_2034

Davey (target member)

 

33 thoughts on “20st lost – I’m now a Slimming World Target Member!!

  1. Yep, eyes are definitely leaking! Well done you. Words cannot express the magnitude of what you’ve done. Best grab yourself a box of tissues! xxx

    Like

  2. Oh my flipping Lord. YOU DID IT! CONGRATULATIONS!!!! (yes this calls for lots of celebratory caps and exclamation marks). I knew you would do it! Whoot. I am sending lots of virtual hugs, victory songs and fireworks your way. 😀 Enjoy your sweet, sweet victory!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I’ve lost count of the number of times I’ve commented on your posts telling you how amazing you are – but you really are!

    Welcome to the target members club!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Hey DaveyWan,

    I’ve lurked on your amazing blog for many months, but it’s time to lift my head above the parapet and wish you my sincere congratulations on reaching this stage of your journey.

    You’re a brave and inspirational man and I look forward to your post-weightloss adventures. Enjoy that well-deserved glow of pride!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Welcome to the club, what an amazing achievement, it was lovely To surprise you today, well done you and keep going to slimming world for now, it is the only way. Xxxx

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Congratulations my friend, I am so proud of you achieving your target, having followed your progress over the last couple of years I feel like I gave achieved it too (I wish). Big Hugs my small matey 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Awww that is absolutely brilliant ❤️❤️I am crying 😍I am so pleased for you and you are ( I will keep saying it) such an inspiration . I love your blogs ❤️Very well done xxxx

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Here I am, punching the air and shouting YESSSSSS! for you! Blummin’ well done Davey. Stupendous. It’s a joy, following your blog – especially when you let us share in your triumphs. And this one – this is a biggie! Go Davey!! x

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Pingback: Part Five: The road not yet walked – daveywankenobie

Leave a comment